Looks like Erick Silva has his first UFC loss after all.
UFC officials released a statement on Thursday explaining Silva's contentious disqualification against Carlo Prater will stand because referee Mario Yamasaki's split-second decision could not be overturned.
Silva ran through Prater in just 29 seconds at UFC 142, crumbling the newcomer with an early knee to body before finishing a quick night of work with a series of hammerfists. At first glance, the result appeared to be "Indio's" fifth straight win, and fourteenth overall, however Yamasaki soon subdued the excitement by announcing the contest as a disqualification loss due to "strikes to the back of the head."
Waves of protest immediately emanated from the HSBC Arena, as Silva, Joe Rogan, and even UFC President Dana White expressed confusion regarding Yamasaki's decision.
"I have great respect for the referee, but I see that most of them hit the side of the head, not the back of the head," Silva said.
"Everyone here knows that wasn't intentional. I don't know what else to say."
Initially UFC officials appeared to side with Silva, paying the 27-year-old his win bonus despite officially losing the contest.
However, the decision was ultimately reviewed and UFC Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Marc Ratner declared his hands were tied because of Yamasaki's verbal warnings and the nature of the foul.
"Based on the referee's verbal warnings and his determination that the blows were intentional and a disqualifying foul, this is not the type of decision that can be reviewed," Ratner stated. "Therefore, the decision stands.
"Recently, Zuffa has decided to implement the use of instant replay at all international events that are self-regulated, and to encourage all regulators to consider the feasibility and effectiveness of instant replay in the sport of MMA. While instant replay would not have reversed the call in the Silva-Prater bout, we believe that it could be valuable to referees and the sport in the future."