clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC 142 Results: Jose Aldo Knocks Out Chad Mendes, Leaps Into Crowd

New, 1 comment

The main event of the evening at UFC 142: Aldo vs. Mendes is Jose Aldo vs. Chad Mendes. This is a featherweight fight, meaning 145 pounds. This is a championship bout, meaning Aldo's title is on the line. This bout is scheduled for five, five-minute rounds. It's airing on pay-per-view. The referee in charge of the action is Mario Yamasaki.

For more analysis, follow Luke Thomas (@SBNLukeThomas) and MMA Nation (@MMANation) on Twitter.

ROUND 1 - Both fighters standing orthodox and Mendes starts off with several inside leg kicks. And now an outside leg kick. Aldo returns the favor and it's hard. Mendes dives on a single and can't get it. Aldo doing all the stalking now. Aldo fires off another hard outside leg kick. Hard uppercut from Aldo and Mendes dives on another single, but can't get it. Mendes grabs another single, but Aldo spins out. Mendes catches a leg kick and as Aldo spins and Mendes takes his back. Mendes still behind tries a lift, but Aldo uses the fence. Mendes still behind Aldo pressing the champion into the fence. Aldo breaks the tightwaist and drives a knee into Mendes' face. Aldo follows up and that's a wrap. Aldo is still the champ.

Jose Aldo defeats Chad Mendes by knockout at 4:59 of round 1

UFC 142 RIO results:
Vitor Belfort submits Anthony Johnson by submission (rear naked choke) at 4:49 of round 1
Rousimar Palhares defeats Mike Massenzio at 1:03 of round 1
Carlo Prater defeats Erick Silva by disqualification due to illegal blows at :29 of round 1
Edson Barboza
defeats Terry Etim by knockout at 2:02 of round three

Thiago Tavares defeats Sam Sout by unanimous decision (scores not read)
Gabriel Gonzaga defeats Ednaldo Oliveira by submission (rear naked choke) at 3:22 of round 1
Yuri Alcantara defeats Michihiro Omigawa by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)

Mike Pyle defeats Ricardo Funch by TKO (referee stoppage) at of round 1
Felipe Arantes defeats Antonio Carvalho by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)