clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC On Fuel TV 2 Fight Card: Ross Pearson Vs. Dennis Siver II Unlikely, Says Pearson

The UFC's debut trip to Sweden, UFC on Fuel TV 2, is scheduled for April 14th, 2012 at Stockholm's Ericsson Globe Arena.

Ross Pearson
Ross Pearson

UFC on Fuel TV 2's featherweight rematch between "The Ultimate Fighter 9" winner Ross Pearson and Russian-German kickboxer Dennis Siver may be in doubt.

Swedish outlet initially reported the bout on Wednesday, however Pearson subsequently denied the announcement on Twitter a day later.

"To put it straight, I've not signed to fight with Siver," Pearson wrote. "I know nothing about it, but I would love to fight in Sweden, whoever it will be."

UFC officials have yet to confirm or deny the booking, though an official UFC Twitter account mentioned the bout earlier this week. Pearson and Siver first met in a lightweight contest at UFC Fight Night 21, with the Brit claiming all three rounds for a unanimous 30-27 judge's decision.

Should the rematch come to fruition, the 27-year-old Pearson (13-5), fresh off a decision victory over Junior Assuncao in his featherweight debut, would be looking to string together consecutive wins for the first time since early 2010. Prior to dropping in weight, the two-time "Fight of the Night" winner sandwiched a dominating win over Spencer Fisher between tough losses to Cole Miller and Edson Barboza.

Meanwhile, 32-year-old striking specialist Siver (19-8) will make his 145-pound debut after a two-minute TKO loss to Donald Cerrone at UFC 137. The eye-opening setback snapped a four-fight win streak that had pushed the his name into title contention.

UFC on Fuel TV 2 is slated for April 14th, 2012 at the Ericsson Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden. Fast rising Swedish light heavyweight Alexander Gustafsson takes on Pride veteran Antonio Rogerio Nogueira in the night's main event.

UFC on Fuel TV 2 fight card:

Light heavyweight: Alexander Gustafsson vs. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira
Middleweight: Brian Stann vs. Alessio Sakara
Welterweight: Paulo Thiago vs. Siyar Bahadurzada
Welterweight: DaMarques Johnson vs. John Maguire
Bantamweight: Brad Pickett vs. Damacio Page
Featherweight: Akira Corassani vs. Jason Young
Middleweight: Magnus Cedenblad vs. Francis Carmont
Welterweight: Papy Abedi vs. James Head
Welterweight: Besam Yousef vs. Simeon Thoresen
Light heavyweight: Jorgen Kruth vs. Cyrille Diabate