clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ADCC 2011 Participants Preview

A complete list of the weight classes and participants of this year's Abu Dhabi Combat Club submission grappling championships.

via <a href=""></a>

The 2011 Abu Dhabi Combat Club (ADCC) championships are coming up this weekend in Nottingham, England and we're seeing what could be one of the most stacked competitions in the history of the tournament barring only a few major names unable to compete because of their recent MMA opportunities.

Competitors either win their way into the tournament via the trials held all over the world, via invitation, or by being the previous tournaments champion.

We'll be treated to the super-fight between 2009 ADCC absolute champion Braulio Estima and his grappling nemesis and 2009 super-fight winner Ronaldo "Jacare" Souza.

Also on the docket will be a match between grappling legends Mario Sperry and Renzo Gracie.

In the under 65.9kg division we have current champ Rafael Mendes looking to hold onto his title:

1. Rafael Mendes. Brazil (current champion, ADCC 2009)
2. Greger Forsel. Finland (European trials)
3. Marko Ramos. USA (North American trials)
4. David Marinakis. Australia (Oceania trials)
5. Tetsu Hadairo. Japan (Asian trials)
6. Jeff Glover. USA (second North American trials)
7. Bruno Frazzato. Brazil (South America)
8. Timo-juhani Hirvikangas. Finland (Second European trials)
9. Ryan Hall. USA (invitation)
10. Rubens "Cobrinha" Charles. Brazil (invitation) 
11) Barret Yoshida. USA (invitation)
12) Rani Yahya. Brazil(invitation)
13) Robson Moura. Brazil (invitation)
14) Jeremy Umphries. USA (invitation)
15) Tom Barlow. England (invitation)
16) Justin Rader (invitation)

In the under 76.9kg division we're left with a field lacking a defending champion as Pablo Popovitch has chosen to move up to the under 88kg division, a certain grappling phenom by the name of Marcelo Garcia is the odds on favorite:  

1. Jorge Britto. Brazil (European trials)
2. Vagner Rocha. Brazil (North American trials)
3. Davis Hart. Australia (Oceania trials winner)
4. Sanshiro Nakakura japan (Asian Trials)
5. Enricco Coco. USA (Second North America trials)
6. Murilo Santana. Brazil (South American trials)
7. Daniel Strauss. England (European trials)
8. Marcelo Garcia. Brazil(invitation)
9. Clark Gracie (invitation)
10. Leo Viera. Brazil(invitation) 
11. JT Torres. USA (invitation)
12. Kron Gracie. Brazil (invitation)
13 Victor Estima Brazil (invitation)
14. Augusto Mendes "Tanquinho". Brazil (invitation)
15. Claudio Calasans Brazil (invitation)
16. Jason Manly (invitation)

In the under 87.9kg division we'll have the runner up Andre Galvao defending the champions position as last ADCC's under 87.9kg champion Braulio Estima will be competing in the superfight after becoming the 2009 absolute ADCC champion.

1. André Galvão. Brazil (current runner-up)
2. Marko Helen. Finland (Europe)

3. Kyle Griffin (invitation)
4. Cameron Rowe. Australia (Oceania)
5. Jeon Doo Kwang. South Korea (Asia)
6. James Harbison. USA(invitation)
7. Zbigniew Tyszka. Poland (European trials)
8. Pablo Popovitch. Brazil (invitation)
9. Rafael Lovato jnr. USA (invitation)
10. Romulo barral. Brazil (invitation)
11. Rousimar Palhares. Brazil (invitation)
12. Sergio Moraes. Brazil (invitation)
13. Paulo Filho. Brazil (invitation)
14. David Avellan. USA (invitation)
15. Dan Schon. Mexico (invitation)
16. Gunnar Nelson Iceland(invitation)

In the under 98.9kg division we'll see a freshly healed Xande Ribeiro look to continue his reign as champion even with 2011 revelation Rodolfo Viera surging up through the Jiu Jitsu world; fans will sadly miss out on the expected match between Roger Gracie and Rodolfo as Roger is out after his recent MMA loss:

1. Xande Ribeiro. Brazil (champion)
2. Kari Peltola. Finland (Europe)
3. Joseph Lee Baize. USA (North America)
4. Igor Praporshchikov. Australia (Oceania)
5. Animal Anzai. Japan (Asia)
6. James Poupolo. USA (North America)
7. Augusto Ferrari. Brazil (South America)
8. Kamil Uminski. Poland (second European trials)
9. Lucio "lagarto" Rodrigues. Brazil (invitation)
10. Rodolfo Viera. Brazil(invitation)
11. Joao Assis. Brazil(invitation)
12. Dean Lister. USA/Brazil (invitation)
13. TBD
14. Radek Turek. Poland (invitation)
15. Antonio Peinado (invitation)
16. James Brasco (invitation)

In the over 99kg division we'll see Fabrico Werdum defending his title:

1.  Fabricio WerdumBrazil (champion)
2. Janne-Pekka Pietiläinen. Finland (Europe)
3. Luke Costello uk(confirmed invitation)
4. Mick Wilson. Australia (Oceania)
5. Sekine Hideki. Japan (Asia)
6.Rodrigo Artilheiro (invitation)
7. Glover Teixeira (invitation)
8. Mateusz Juskowiak. Poland (European trials)
9. Jeff Monson. USA (invitation)
10. Bruno Bastos. Brazil(invitation)
11. Roberto Abreu. Brazil (invitation)
12. Jarrod Bunch(invitation)
13. Vinny Magalhaes . Brazil(invitation)
14. Geraldi Rinaldi. USA (invitation)
15. Fereira Jose Junior. Brazil (invitation)
16. Alexander Trans. Denmark (invitation)

The under 60kg female division will see competition between Luanna Alzuguir the current champion and Kyra Gracie/Michelle Nicolini her closest competition this year:

1. Luanna Alzuguir. Brazil (champion)
2. Lara Jayne Ng. Australia (Oceania)
3. Hashi Takayo. Japan (Asia)
4. Cathilee Albert. USA (North America)
5. Michelle Nicolini. Brazil (South America)
6. Sara Svensson (European trials)
7. Krya Gracie. Brazil (invitation)
8. Rosi Sexton. U.K (invitation)

The over 60kg female division will most likely pit Hannette Staack, Gabi Garcia and Penny Thomas up against eachother in the end:

1. Hannette Staack. Brazil (champion)
2. Fiona Muxlow. Australia (Oceania)
3. Penny Thomas. South America (North America)
4. Talita Nogueira. Brazil (South America)
5. Devi Ahuja. Norway (European trials)
6. Gabi Garcia. Brazil (invitation)
7. Ida Hansson (invitation)
8. Katrina Weilbacher(invitation)