The California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) has overturned the decision of Mackens Semerzier vs. Robert Peralta to a no contest. The news was passed down to Semerzier's representation and first reported by MMA Weekly on Tuesday.
The bout in question took place on the November 12th undercard of UFC on Fox 1. After a back-and-forth opening two rounds, Peralta appeared to drop Semerzier with a glancing blow midway through the final frame before finishing him off for a TKO victory.
However, upon replay inspection, it became apparent that an accidental headbutt was the cause of the knockdown. Semerzier's representation immediately protested the stoppage and filed an appeal with the CSAC before meeting with the commission on Tuesday. UFC officials have thus far remained silent on the prospect of a rematch.
MMA Nation Senior Editor Luke Thomas was on-hand to call the action as it occured.
ROUND 3 - Semerzier landing a series of inside and outside leg kicks. Side kick to the body from Peralta. Peralta now standing southpaw first and the replay shows a headbutt drops Semerzier to the mat. Peralta swarms and referee John McCarthy stops the fight.