clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC 139 Results: Henderson And Shogun Rua Put On Fight Of The Year Candidate

Today at the  HP Pavilion in San Jose, California, the UFC's inaugural event in that city turned in some of the best fight performances of the year. In more notable action, prospect Michael McDonald make quick work of Alex Soto to push himself into contender status. Wanderlei Silva staved off retirement with by stopping Cung Le in the second round. Martin Kampmann returned to UFC action against the ultra-tough Rick Story and despite a strong first round from the former wrestler, Kampmann was able to rebound in the second and third rounds to take a decision win.

Most notably, the non-title main event between Dan Henderson and Mauricio Rua provided an instant classic. Henderson easily took the first three rounds, but a strong fourth round performance and completely dominant fifth round turned in a draw on our score cards. Henderson was able to take a unanimous decision win, but this fight will easily go down as one of the best in the history of the Ultimate Fighting Championship.

Stay tuned to MMA Nation for more coverage of this event.

Full UFC 139 fight card results:

UFC 139 results: Dan Henderson defeats Mauricio 'Shogun' Rua by unanimous decision (48-47, 48-47, 48-47)
UFC 139: Wanderlei Silva defeats Cung Le by knockout at 4:29 of round 3.
UFC 139 results: Urijah Faber defeats Brian Bowles by submission (guillotine choke) 1:27 of round 2.
UFC 139 results: Martin Kampmann defeats Rick Story by split decision (29-28 Story, 30-27 Kampmann, 29-28 Kampmann)
UFC 139 results: Stephan Bonnar defeats Kyle Kingsbury by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-25, 30-27)
UFC 139 results: Ryan Bader defeats Jason Brilz by knockout at 1:17 of round 1.
UFC 139 results: Michael McDonald defeats Alex Soto by knockout at :56 of round 1.
UFC 139 results: Chris Weidman defeats Tom Lawlor by submission (D'arce choke) at 2:07 of round 1.
UFC 139 results: Gleison Tibau defeats Rafael dos Anjos by split decision (29-28 dos Anjos, 29-28 Tibau, 30-27 Tibau)
UFC 139 results: Miguel Torres defeats Nick Pace by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27).
UFC 139 results: Seth Baczynski defeats Matt Brown by submission (guillotine) at :42 of round 2.
UFC 139 results: Danny Castillo defeats Shamar Bailey by TKO (referee stoppage) at 4:52 of round 1.